Mary Gold: “I used to think that I was a Nephilim”

New Orleans hip hop artist Mary Gold defines, or used to define, her “spirituality” in terms of being a Nephilim.

I’m a spiritual person, I don’t really believe in a structured religion. I don’t know. I’ve had so many weird experiences with spirituality and religion period. Like my life revolves around that. Being in North Carolina pretty much changed my whole life and the way I look at things. I remember meeting the weirdest people, I met this one guy who thought he was the Devil. We would get high in the bathroom and turn the showers on and once everyone left the bathroom, all of the fog would leave. Because you know you put on the shower and it would fog up the windows. We would talk about how he felt like he was going to destroy the world, and the fog would come back and fog up the windows and nothing would happen, like why stuff like that would happen?

I used to think that I was a Nephilim. I entice people, people would come to me if they were looking for something and I would help them find their way. Because a lot of my relationships and friendships ended when my friends found different paths, or found themselves, or went in different directions to become better people.

– Mary Gold

In Genesis 6:1-4, the Nephilim are all men, Gibborim (heroes) of antiquity, men of renown. Mary Gold, who is the first female signing to Curren$y’s Jet Life recordings, uses the term to describe her own dominant, superhuman personality.

Leave a Reply

